Because randomness is the way to go! ;)

13th April-

I, along with a few (very few, because some of them are clearly not Abnegation and didn’t even wait for us to make some plans :/) of my Petites Potterheads, am gonna watch Divergent tomorrow evening.
I’m very excited obviously.
But there is still more than 24 hours to go.

The few reviews that I read scattered all over the internet were not exactly scintillating (well far from that). While some believed that Shai’s performance was the only thing that saved the movie, some thought Theo did great.
Then there were some who said Shai’s Tris is no match for JLaw’s Katniss (Do not ask me why there are constant comparisons between THG and Divergent! They are both dystopian with strong female characters but the similarity ends there) while others thought Tris left Katniss far behind when it comes to dystopian heroines.

Well, I’ll form my opinions tomorrow.
My first impressions of Shailene Woodley as Tris weren’t very good (there are several things wrong with the casting, all of it. Their ages to begin with) but she won me over as Hazel Grace Lancaster and now I’m biased towards her.
As for Four, well nothing against Theo James, but my expectations had bordered on Greek God and as far as the trailer is concerned- I’m not all that happy. To be honest, I don’t know if I’d ever be- with any casting for Four.
But I’m gonna go tomorrow with an open mind and hope for the best.

One person I’m waiting to watch in the movie is Ansel… as Caleb. Yeah I know … but Ansel be my Gus, so I love Ansel. *dreamy look in eyes*

My friends are really excited too and they randomly mentioned a few scenes and I was all- Wait a minute! When did that happen?

And that’s when I realized that it has been over 15 months that I read Divergent.
Which means I don’t remember most of the little things.

And that’s a good thing for various reasons.

— I won’t be shouting and swearing at the producers/directors/ script-writers and being generally pissed off at them for changing what’s in the books, because I don’t remember!

— The movie is supposedly not so good, so I might just enjoy it because I don’t remember the books which means I’ll be like one of those people who just watch the movies.

(Although I am getting a feeling, a niggling but persistent little feeling at the back of my mind, that once the movie starts, it’ll all come back to me!
I mean I’m pat with the basics. I know all factions, their colors, their qualities but I’ve sort of forgotten the story line and I don’t know in my head where Divergent ends and Insurgent starts- or who dies in which book)

— It’ll be awesome to get the thrill of Divergent again… because inspite of Allegiant, I had really loved Divergent and Insurgent- in fact, before Allegiant came out I had sort of liked it better than THG (well, I hadn’t been able to stay away from giving an opinion on that THG vs Divergent debate myself).

Okay so all my plans have an uncanny ability of getting cancelled at the last moment.

Fingers crossed and hoping for the best!

14th April [15.30]:

It’s not yet time.
More than an hour to go.
The ray of hope that was the Divergent movie was the only thing that kept me alive in the dark pits (nope, not the Dauntless Pit) of boredom the last 7 hours while in classes.

I am so excited right now!
I wasn’t all this excited until, like 2-3 days ago, but now I am!!!!

Wow! I so cannot wait! 😀

I’ll be back with an update in a while.
Probably after the movie.

An hour and a half for the day to end:

Yes! I watched it!
And for the first time in my life I find myself in the position of writing a review.

Like, an as-close-to-unbiased-as-possible review.

Because…well.. the movie left a lot to be desired.

The first half of the movie– Pretty much by the book.
I only got slightly annoyed when I saw random people wearing clothes in the combinations “red and blue” or some weird shit like that.
And of course they didn’t put some major scenes but I guess that part is always a given.

The second half– Whoa! I don’t know where to begin with the criticisms.

I went from mildly irritated at the scene where Tris shoots people after killing Will when in the book she clearly doesn’t pick up a gun for like the whole of the next book (Insurgent) to being outright pissed off at the scenes where there are too many Erudites openly involved in all the goings-on (especially Jeanine Matthews) to hysterically laughing at the climax.
Yes! Don’t believe me, do you?
I said that I’d go for the movie without any expectations but the least I could expect from it is to not make me laugh during the climax scenes!

After I got used to the fact (somewhere 20 odd minutes before the movie ended) that they have changed major parts of the book (yes, most of it did come back to me) I couldn’t help but find the end hilarious.
I’m sorry but I did.
A Divergent fan who has read the book can have only two reactions to the whole scenario that took place between Tris and Jeanine- they either cried a lot or laughed a lot.

Involuntarily, I went with the “laugh a lot”.

I mean, what else was I supposed to do?

You know what they needed on the sets?
This.

image

Like FOUR of these!

One of my Petites Potterheads (quite accurately, I suppose) pointed out that the reason that that happened is because Kate Winslet had to be given at least a semi-important role in the movie (owing to the fact that she’s a big star and all), which frankly she wouldn’t if they stuck to the book plot.
But what they fail to realize is that Insurgent (the next part they will- hopefully- make) is pretty much  Jeanine-Tris.

My verdict on Theo James: Although he comes nowhere close to the Four I had imagined, I understand that it isn’t his fault, and I expressly declare that not only is he a good actor but a very very competent Four.

That on Ansel Elgort: Conflicting emotions much?
On the one hand, I know he is betrayal personified and I should hate him with my guts (there are a few things too messed up to be fixed with a Peter Gabriel song).

But then again, that was Ansel Elgort.
All the time I was thinking, ‘that be my Gus’
In a few months’ time, I’m gonna watch him onscreen being one of my favourite fictional guys ever!

How am I supposed to hate him?

In fact, at one point when Tris goes to meet him at the Erudite headquarters I leaned into my friend and whispered “I’d find it perfectly normal if he jus kissed her now!”

My anti- incest friend said “Eww! Shut up!”

But I really couldn’t shake off that feeling.
I guess I was hoping that, with some supernatural help, this movie would gradually fade to black and TFiOS start in its place.

What can I say? I’m dying to watch that movie. Never in my life have I been so excited to watch a movie.

Anyway, back to the movie at hand.

So, Shailene’s performance: For one thing, I really like her voice. It’s a bit nasal, and I like how it sounds.
And her eyes… wow! Her eyes are really amazing. I’m surprised I didn’t notice before.
But today they were splashed across the screen for me to look into them.
42 points for guessing the movie that I really really really cannot wait to watch now.

What else should I be saying?
Tris’ mom? I loved that lady.
I don’t know why- I had imagined someone very different but I prefer the movie one!

Eric? I hate him with every fibre of my body for being such a bully.
No change there then.

Oh and the few quips which were totally not there in the books?
Like Christina saying “What? Like one, two and three were taken?”
Or the mini verbal showdown between Four and Eric about the new rules and old rules?

I loved them.

Conclusion: While I’ll definitely be watching the next movie no matter what I say here (I mean c’mon, who are we kidding?), it wasn’t something to write home about.
Everything was pretty mediocre but to some extent that could be because the book was the more information based itself.
I hope Insurgent will be better- that’s all I can say.

P.S. Since I have mentioned TFiOS numerous times up there, I suppose one more time won’t hurt.

Go watch this if you haven’t already.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

