Because randomness is the way to go! ;)

Happy Birthday JScribble!

John Green turns 37 today.
And sure, he is one of my favourite authors but this post is more of a full-of-feels post about why I like John, as a person.
He is one of my two favourite people in the world (the other being his brother) and this post is to let you know why.

I say JKR is my favourite author (one of them) but I don’t say she is my favourite person, that’s because I don’t know her as a person.
I know she is nice, smart, kind and generous- but that’s about it.
She is the Queen with an enigmatic aura around her and I’d like to keep it that way.

But John, I obsessively keep track of his life- he is like a friend.
I feel happy for him when his books become movies, I’m proud of him when he writes another book and I feel sad when he isn’t feeling well (like right now! 😦 )
He is the one who gave me a whole island full of people who share the same interests as me and are basically made of awesome (The island, of course, being Nerdfighteria and the people being Nerdfighters).

He is funny without being mean (Oh yes I’m quoting him while writing about him- that’s how I roll!), he tells you random nerdy facts, and wants you to know about the political situation in Nepal- and he will even eat toilet paper if that’ll make you listen.
And don’t even get me started on peanut-butter face and Sharpie face.

With John,  it isn’t like he will always tell you facts you never knew, he won’t tell you profound truths all the time, sometimes he will simply say the things you already knew and felt.
But when he says them, you realize that he has said them in the precise manner they needed to be said in, he has put into words the exact same thing you were trying to put into words but obviously John did a better job.

Another really likeable thing about him is how he knows about the mistakes he made in his past, and he tells all of Nerdfighteria about it- he isn’t scared to admit his weaknesses.
He is extremely modest and never lets all the fame go to his head.
He isn’t self- obsessed (not more than anybody else anyway) and always undermines himself, not so that everyone will tell him just how awesome he is, but because he is just that kind of person.

Hank is my favourite brother, that’s what I tell everybody. And it is true.
But Hank wouldn’t be Hank if not for John.
Elder siblings always influence the younger ones, right from childhood.
And for all his talks of sibling rivalry, he is prouder of Hank than any of us is.
(And God knows we’re all so proud of Hank). The way he talks about their childhood (he does it more than Hank does) is another indicator that he loves his little brother a lot.

John is a very smart guy. He may make us believe that he isn’t or never has been, but it is obvious that he has always been one of those perceptive guys, who’re noticing stuff happening around them. Like the guy who invented the smallpox vaccine (yes I’m stealing from him again, what’s your point?)

He was always supposed to be an author. Little kids throw tantrums, not dejectedly drop the luggage from their hands and calmly announce “I cannot take this anymore”.

All the videos with baby Henry are proof that he is an excellent father too.
He gives The Yeti veto power about so many things in his life, he really and truly loves her.
He respects her wish to not feature on the vlogbrothers channel, so much so that till date there hasn’t been a single Yeti sighting on the vlogbrothers.
(The Art Assignment? Sure. Random YouTube videos? Absolutely. But vlogbrothers? Never!)
He can turn anything into something fun and creative.
He urges everybody to read, to get an education, to know more about their own selves and others too, he even makes sure Henry is empathetic.
He also helps us to read- and ultimately, think- critically. If not for Crash Course Literature, I don’t think I’d have seen all the subtle things in The Catcher In The Rye, thus not understanding so many of thought provoking things the book has to say.

He turned 37 today, but he isn’t really a 37 year old. He is probably more active on social networks than I am (and yet he finds time to read, write and make videos- sometimes I wonder if some people are given more than 24 hours in a day) and is open to all kinds of new things.

Now, if you’ve been reading my post all this while and you have no idea who John Green is (although that’s unlikely, if you’ve hung around my blog enough- or have been on the internet for at least a bit the last two months you have a rough idea as to who he is), I present to you the very man, in gif form:

image

Truer words have never been spoken

image

What indeed!

image

Nom nom nom

image

You must be!

image

Happy Dance and a (somewhat) graceful exit!

Comments on: "Happy Birthday JScribble!" (17)

  1. This made me smile 🙂 thanks

    Like

  2. aditi1641 said:

    Reblogged this on My Crazy High School Life and commented:
    “A Blast of Random” makes it much more clear than I ever can. John is a great person, a great author, and a great role model. He is the most humble and humane author (maybe after JKR), and that is why I admire him so much.

    Like

  3. aditi1641 said:

    I love you for doing this! I just can’t stop screaming my lungs out! You could actually sit down and do this! 😛

    Like

    • I love myself for doing it and I love you for reblogging it!!
      Thank you so much! That means a lot to me- and I know it’s John Green that made you reblog- but I’m so happy either ways!

      Sit down where and do what? 😛

      Like

      • aditi1641 said:

        I couldn’t stop my fangerling and keeping calm!! And writing a post about today – his birthday 🙂

        Like

      • He is awesome :’)

        Wow! I really cannot imagine what my life would be like right now if I didn’t know about him and his books and his brother.

        Like

      • aditi1641 said:

        Don’t even get started. All my life is their awesomeness along with my new-found awesomeness. I don’t want to know where I would be without them. I can feel the joy of people who constantly keep discovering him 🙂

        Like

      • Yeah that is such an amazing thing!!!
        And then we both ( the other person who just discovered them and I) instantly become friends and start discussing their videos, books, songs and all round awesomeness 😀

        Like

      • aditi1641 said:

        Just like we met!!!! It’s a cycle, of accepting everyone into this community of awesome nerdfandom!!! 😀

        Like

      • So true 😀
        :*

        Like

  4. What an awesome post! John Green is certainly a wonderful human being! I’ve read TFIOS twice and now I’m reading Looking for Alaska, while as you know, watching ALL the vlogbrother’s videos. I’ve been having some Internet connectivity issues, but hoping to resolve them soon. Anyway, this post made me happy!

    Like

    • Thanks a lot, I’m so happy you like it.
      My favourite John Green book is Paper Towns, but you must read it after Looking for Alaska- I think that improves the experience. 😛

      Internet connectivity is the worst thing ever! :/
      I hope you can sort it out asap.

      Like

  5. Aww :’) this was really sweet! I agree that Mr.Green constructs the nicest sentences to say the most profound things, things that one would probably already be aware of. Nicely done Sam!

    Like

  6. This is an awesome, no scratch that, NERDFIGHTASTIC post, and I’m so glad you wrote it!

    Like

    • I’m so glad too…
      I thought “awesome” was it- the highest degree of praise in Nerdfighteria, but of course, there’s NERDFIGHTASTIC that’s beats awesome. 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

