Because randomness is the way to go! ;)

Once upon a time, perhaps 9 months ago, I was rereading a Harry Potter book and came across a sentence which I thought was extremely mysterious if taken out of context. If someone simply wrote it on a piece of paper and gave it to me, I’d come up with about 394 scenarios based on that one sentence.
That made me wonder, are there others of this kind?
So I went looking for them.

Guess what? (And this shouldn’t come as a surprise since the author in question is J K Rowling)
Harry Potter has plenty of those.
I took three of them and thought I’d make up a story for each of them. I’d enjoy writing them too, because as soon as I read those sentences, the stories started forming in my head.
I then planned to publish those stories on my blog.
For a few months after that though, I completely forgot about them.
Then again at the end of September/ beginning of October I decided to work on them.
But while trying to write one of them (the very first one) I got stuck at a part and didn’t know how to go on with the story and so I asked a friend for help.
He read what I had written so far and was so intrigued that he asked me if he could write this story himself.
At first I was reluctant but then I thought Why Not?
I am writing two others already, so it’d be one less story for me to write. And he seemed pretty excited too.
I said yes.

And that was that… except it wasn’t.

That very day, I visited a friend and we got talking about Harry Potter (she has read it, but truth be told I could talk about Harry Potter to a Muggle as well) and I told her about this story writing idea of mine.
Then I asked her if she’d like to write one as well.
She wanted to.
Her precise words were, “There’s no way I’m not doing this if it’s related to Harry Potter!”

(In another language. So does that not make them her “precise words”? Or can I still say that? Because I translated well!)

While I was on my way home an hour later, the idea was already forming in my head brilliantly (if I say so myself).
Then I started worrying that I wouldn’t find enough of such interesting sentences (which was a stupid concern anyway. It’s Harry Potter we’re talking about! That series defined a generation of kids! There’s no way it wouldn’t have a handful of sentences which deserved a story of their own).

I thought about all my friends who write (there’s plenty of those) and I wondered if they’d like to write short stories for me (yes, yes they would).

As soon as I reached home, I emailed them asking if they were interested in writing a short story based on a prompt I gave.
All those who replied in the affirmative received another email with a list of prompts of which they had to choose one and incorporate it word to word in their story. That was the only rule really.

I didn’t tell them about how the prompts were from Harry Potter (except that one friend mentioned up there).
By reading this blog post is how they will be finding out too. Hehe… (I’m such a sneaky little bugger, aren’t I?!?)

I got all the stories soon after that (first drafts at least! Some of my friends still wish to make some teeny tiny changes in their story. I love how they’re taking it so siriusly.)
All of them are awesome!
All of this is just so amazing and I am very excited.
I can’t wait to post all of them here for you to read πŸ˜€

Very proud of all my friends who contributed and thanks a lot- all of you!
This is the first time I’m going to have guest posts on my blog, that makes it all the more exciting for me.

I have already decided which story I’m going to publish first.
I also know when I’m going to publish it.
I guess I could tell you that much…

The prompt line is ‘She nodded, blushing to the roots of her flaming hair, and put her elbow in the butter dish.

I’m planning to publish it on the 7th of December so mark your calendars because you don’t want to miss reading this story πŸ˜‰

Comments on: "The (Very Exciting) Announcement" (16)

  1. You…You…

    Sam, I am grinning right now and I don’t know if it’s out of amazement at the sheer brilliance of this idea or that I was writing based on a line about GINNY WEASLEY.

    And now I’m think about what I wrote and how absolutely different it was from what Rowling wrote and…

    You are one sneaky person, you know that?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hehehe…
      I know right?
      I was actually worried you would figure out that the line was about Ginny, but I’m so glad you didn’t.
      And that’s exactly why I didn’t tell you about it, because then you’d compare your writing to JKR’s, or like, the fact that it was from Harry Potter would somehow influence your writing. And I didn’t want that.
      But now you know πŸ˜€

      Like

      • It’s definitely an interesting experiment. But now all I’m thinking about is that scene in the Burrow πŸ˜›

        …and because I’m a klutz who doesn’t know how to work her own trackpad, I accidentally liked my own comment *facepalm*

        Like

      • Hahaha!!!
        Did WordPress email you about being vain like the last time? Hehe…

        Liked by 1 person

      • Haha, nope. I was half expecting it though. How has this happened twice?!

        Like

      • I’m wondering if you liked my comment because you liked it or because you’re a klutz. Hehe.. just kidding!
        By the way, why aren’t you sleeping?
        Isn’t it middle of the night for you right now?!?!
        Good night if you’re about to go to sleep.

        Like

      • Yes it is almost midnight…and no I genuinely liked your comment! Also, I’m very excited to read all the other writings (the excitement isn’t whats keeping me up, but I am excited!)

        Like

  2. I am so privileged to be the friend who knew the secret. Thank you πŸ™‚
    Can’t wait to read the other stories :*

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wow, this is such an incredible idea. Would you mind if I perhaps borrow the idea? And maybe I’ll post it up on my blog? Of course if I did, I would give you credit for the idea. I completely agree with the others; brilliant!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Sounds like fun! πŸ™‚ I can’t wait to read all the stories!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. […] This story is part of a series I’m going to post written by some of my friends based on Harry Potter prompts. You can check out the post in which I explain it allΒ here. […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

