Because randomness is the way to go! ;)

Recently I found myself thinking that I should do something to get more people to read my blog, or at least, to make them aware of its existence.

I am not exactly sure how I came to thinking about that but it mostly happened from the realization that I’ve been doing it for more than a year now, and it is, indeed, a very important part of my daily routine (if not my life) and, therefore, I should take it a little bit more siriusly.

But then again, a small incident regarding a fellow blogger who may or may not have pushed the promoting thing too far led me to think of all the ways people promote their blogs, and honestly, I felt a little uncomfortable just thinking about doing it.

For instance, some people I know send me a link to their latest post and insist that I read it! Also, these people rarely talk to me outside of the conversations we have about their blog.

I, for one, rarely send my friends links to any of my posts. If I do, I make sure that reading the post will actually help them in some way and/ or that they’ll enjoy it. And even then, I tell them that they only have to read if they feel like it and not reading it will not make me angry or sad at all.
My friendship (or any sort of relationship) with a person is more important than a couple of views on my blog.
I don’t want them to feel like I take advantage of the fact that we’re friends to promote my own blog.

If anything, I’m always more interested in reading things that my friends have written!

I realize that since I blog only as a hobby and not because I earn money from doing it (or even any non- monetary benefits) I don’t need to promote the blog, nor do I need the views or followers.
That’s why I can sit here and write self-righteously about not promoting blogs.
(There’s also the fact that, most days, I’m content with the views I get on my blog. Yes, I wouldn’t say no to more, but I wouldn’t take a lot of efforts to get them either).

It’s always pretty great to get a few more views than you expected or hoped to get, and the views are simply a numeric representation of how well you write (although not always) and a way of feeling appreciated. And what writer doesn’t like to be appreciated?

Which is what brought me to the question: How much is too much?

I’d love to know your thoughts and opinions on the topic.
Also tell me any annoying habits of bloggers that you’ve come across (and you can tell if it was me 😛 )

Comments on: "How much is too much when it comes to blog promotion?" (2)

  1. I think that’s a ‘how long is a piece of string’ question! Its all personal I guess.. What do you want to achieve with your blog? World fame? Well then I guess you have to plug away, but if you’re writing for pleasure, maybe for personal reasons, you might not want it publicised to too many people you know.
    I have mine linked on a separate FB page to my personal one, so my friends can like the page if they want to read, I’m not bombarding them with posts! And the Twitter, G+, Tumblr and Bloglovin options are there if someone wishes!
    Its a thrill to see the numbers rise, but not the be all and end all… As long as what I’ll posting makes someone happy, I’m happy!😊

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes I agree with you.
      It depends upon the reason for blogging.
      But what I’m mostly trying to say through my post is, till what extent is it alright from the reader’s perspective?
      After what point is it considered ‘too much’?
      Again, that depends upon every individual reader but there has to be a few things that are just impolite or, like, unspoken limits?

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

