Because randomness is the way to go! ;)

image

image

image

image

It’s The Queen’s birthday today!!
And it is also the birthday of our favourite wizard, The Boy Who Lived!!

And, it is also my second Blogiversary (which is not the most important events per se, but one very important achievement in my own personal timeline. Who knew I’d last this long?)

Celebrations!!!

*passes Butterbeer around*

So if you’ve been around for a while (what I mean is, if you were around this time last year), you’ll know that I celebrate this day by doing something that is both blogging related and also related to Harry Potter because both are significant parts of my life or, you could say (in the spirit of the day), they’re two of my horcruxes!

What am I doing this year then?
It’s going to be a bit of a long celebration.
I’m doing the Harry Potter Tumblr Challenge which Short Story Long Blog wrote about first.
It couldn’t have come at a better time!
(Then again, maybe it was meant to come at exactly this time)
The title of my post is a reference to Leanna’s post and it works because both of us are using this challenge as a way to come back to blogging after our hiatuses.

My friend Tanvi is also doing the challenge and I’m so excited because it’s going to be sooo much fun!!!

The question for Day 1 is: Your favourite Harry Potter book

[Let me tell you something, the questions get better with each passing day which is an incentive for quitters like me to stick around longer because I really want to answer the ones towards the end, but I must go through these difficult ones first… Aah well! Such is life]

[Then again this is Harry Potter, that should be motivation enough for me. Tanvi and I kept discussing this at length the other day. Haha! ]

[Yes I’m procrastinating answering the question]

[Don’t even tell me you didn’t miss me with all my parentheses and sidenotes and digressions]

Okay.
Let me do it though.

I don’t have an answer.
Obviously.
But it’s called a challenge.

I have two.
I’m sorry I just can’t narrow it down any further.

1. Harry Potter and The Prisoner of Azkaban

The first book was the beginning.
It blew me away.
For the first time in my life I was going crazy because I wanted to read some book. (And some book it was!)
But after reading PoA, I knew there was no going back.
My life was changed.
It hit me then.
I don’t know why this book specifically, but it just did.

2. Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix

The mere size of this book!

The plot! The deaths!

Oh my God!

I remember finishing more than half of this book in one day.
I read it for hours that day and finished it.
Sirius Black’s death was the worst thing to have happened to me.
His is the first death in the series that I really cried about.
I cried when I finished the book, I cried at night.

I remember being in denial for at least an entire chapter after his death.
Surely he wasn’t dead?!

He’s coming back, isn’t he?
It was just a veil!!
He could come out right??
Any moment now.

Well, I’m not going to talk about it.
It still hurts.

At night when I cried, I mourned for Sirius. But there was another thing I was crying about.
It was the fact that I did not have the next book.
I had read book 3, 4 and 5 one after the other.
I knew I didn’t have the sixth one. I knew that was coming- it filled me with dread.
But I didn’t realise it would be so bad!
I needed the sixth book ASAP!!!
But I didn’t have it.
I read it around five months later.
The wait was agony.

But oh my God, I’d do it all over again.

I’d sell my soul to go back and read Harry Potter for the first time .

Each and every book.

Oh Rowling…. Can I please do that?
Do we have a spell for that?

Comments on: "Coming back from a hiatus with Harry Potter" (19)

  1. Yay, we have the same favourite! πŸ™‚ Order of the Pheonix for the win!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Welcome back Sam. I have something to ask you. Would you be interested in my revamped blog’s Reader’s Nook? I interview book lovers to answer a set of questions and publish it with their bio and link.

    Alternatively, you can feature as a Guest Blogger on my blog and post about anything related to books, Harry Potter etc. Let me know and we will work on it πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    • Wow this is awesome! I’d be very much interested. πŸ˜€
      Please give me a link to your blog so I’ll check it out.
      And what would you like me to do?

      Liked by 1 person

      • This is the section in the blog:
        https://scribblingowlet.wordpress.com/category/readers-nook/

        The questions will be same. So, go through the questions and send me the replies over mail along with your bio and link.:)

        My mail id is – sucheta dot scribbles at gmail dot com

        And as for Guest Post, you can work on the topic you want to write and let me know. Then you can work on it and send me the post through mail and attach photos (original, if any) that go with it. I would love you to do something on Harry Potter – your love for the series. But any other topic – books specifically, would be as much welcome πŸ˜€

        Like

      • I checked out all the questions and they’re great! πŸ˜€
        I’d love to answer them and I’ll do so and email you asap (it might be a little while though).
        Anyway, thanks for asking me to post πŸ™‚
        As for the guest post, I’ll have to give it some thought. Is it alright if I do it after this 30 Day Harry Potter Challenge?

        Liked by 1 person

      • Whenever you get the time πŸ™‚ Do carry on with the Challenge please. ❀ I have done it and its just awesome. Teehehehe

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Yay you’re back! πŸ˜€ And what a great way to come back through Harry haha. I missed your posts ^-^

    Liked by 1 person

  4. The end of your post was actually so devastating.. It hurt as much as the end of reading all the books. I wish the books never got over 😦

    Like

  5. aditi1641 said:

    Hey!

    This Harry Potter Challenge sounds like a lot of fun! I’m glad to see your posts flood my reader again, and I’ll definitely keep checking in on how the challenge is progressing. Besides, what else is up?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hey you should do it too!
      And well, nothing much is going on. The usual- studies, trying to keep up with all the awesome things on the internet and blogging occasionally (currently, a little regularly)
      What about you?

      Like

      • aditi1641 said:

        Just enjoying my summer before it ends. Next Monday I start 11th grade! I’m so nervous and excited the same time. I too am trying to keep my blog active. It’s tricky trying to redefine my blog overtime I come back to it after every school year. But I hope to work hard while I’m at it. Otherwise, life is chill.

        Liked by 1 person

      • That’s great! Good luck for the new school year πŸ˜€
        It’s been a while since I blogged too.
        Life always gets in the way of blogging. -.-

        Like

  6. aditi1641 said:

    Hahaha. I remember the agony when it came for waiting to buy the next book. I remember I was so much into the 6th book, and I was at the last page, and when I realized I didn’t have the 7th book, it sucked. I was so eager to get the ;last book, I bought it at an airport bookstore, and read it right after buying it!
    I also remember never looking up from it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aah those days!!
      I miss those days so much 😦
      When there were new Harry Potter books to look forward to.

      Like

      • aditi1641 said:

        Yeah… Harry Potter made my world such a different place. All the series these days are either Harry Potter rip-offs with the castle and magic stuff, or otherwise people are killing and dying simply for the fun of it. I haven’t come across anything as earnest as Harry Potter. 😦 Just getting by with a single book after the other

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

