Because randomness is the way to go! ;)

Day 8: What’s your favourite lesson from the series?

The Harry Potter series has 7 books, 8 movies, several more smaller books, an upcoming spin-off, a musical parody.
It has one of the largest fandoms in the world and it has defined an entire generation. It has become a way of life for more people than you and I can imagine.
Some of them started reading the series as kids and grew up reading them. I’m one of them.
Harry Potter has given us life lessons, taught us values- it has shaped our lives. Most of us don’t remember our lives from before Harry Potter.
J K Rowling has quite literally made me the person I am today- or at least laid the foundation.
I think it’d be safe to say that it is impossible to write in about 250 to 500 words about our one favourite lesson from Harry Potter.

A couple of months ago, I got a chance to talk about Harry Potter for 3 minutes. It wasn’t a prepared speech. I just had to go up there and talk.
And I did.
I don’t remember much of what I said (you could say I was in a bit of a trance) but most people who were there said I spoke longer than 3 minutes.
And here’s the surprising part: at the end of it, I wasn’t happy with myself. I hadn’t done it justice.
I’ll blog about Harry Potter for 30 days now (hopefully)- and that’s not counting all my previous random posts about Harry Potter and my future posts- and I’ll feel like I’ve not done it justice.

Today when I read the prompt, it’s the same feeling I got, that no matter what or how much I wrote I wouldn’t do it justice; which is why I’m posting this later than usual- I didn’t know where to begin.
Now, a couple of hours to midnight I decided to sit down and write whatever I was thinking of. Thus this rambling session happened.

Harry Potter has taught me that your loved ones are all you have in the end.
Be it friends or family.
Harry Potter has taught me that you have to not be selfish sometimes and do certain things for the greater good.
It has taught me how crucial sacrifice is.
Harry Potter has taught me that only you can save yourself in the end.

image

Harry Potter has taught me to be empathetic, to be kind to others, to treat everyone with respect, to be less prejudiced, more tolerant and accepting.

Harry Potter continues to teach me lots of things lots of times.
I simply cannot write one post about it.
Learning from Harry Potter is a life long process and I’ll continue to learn.
Always.

Comments on: "Why are these questions so bloody difficult!?!?" (2)

  1. Love this post! I completely know what you mean. It’s so hard to put your love for Harry into words and to explain why it’s such an amazing, inspiring series! How can you do it justice in one post?!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Or even in 30?
      It is also, in a way, the beauty of Harry Potter. You can’t get over it, or get bored of it or grow out of it.
      It stays with you forever and always. :’)

      Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

